Indian Premier League 2022: date, time, format, teams, television, streaming, teams, fixtures, schedule, players


The IPL returns for its 15th edition and The Cricketer has all the information you need to know

What is that?

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League, a T20 competition organized by the BCCI.

When is it?

IPL 2022 starts on Saturday, March 26 when reigning champions Chennai Super Kings take on Kolkata Knight Riders at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The 70-match group stage ends on Sunday May 22 with the top four teams qualifying for the playoffs.

The playoff schedule has yet to be confirmed, but the final is due to take place on Sunday, May 29.

Where is it?

Four venues will be used in IPL 2022. Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai will host 20 group matches each, while Brabourne Stadium (Mumbai) and MCA International Stadium (Pune) will each host 15 matches.

Which teams are affected?

10 teams are participating in this season’s IPL, an increase of two from last year. Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans are the two new franchises, joining familiar faces Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad.


Liam Livingstone, the most expensive overseas player at auction, is one of nine England players in IPL 2022 [Francois Nel/Getty Images]

What is the format?

Unlike past years, the teams were split into two groups of five. During the group stage, each team will play 14 matches: play the other four teams in their group twice, four teams from the opposite group once and the remaining team from the opposite group twice.

The top four teams in the combined draw will advance to the playoffs.

Group A consists of Delhi Capitals (PK), Kolkata Knight Riders (SH), Lucknow Super Giants (GT), Mumbai Indians (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RCB).

Chennai Super Kings (MI), Gujarat Titans (LSG), Punjab Kings (DC), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (KKR) are in Group B.

The initials in parentheses indicate the team in the opposing group that each team will play twice.

What happened last year?

Covid-19 disrupted the IPL 2021, with the tournament split between India (March-May) and the United Arab Emirates (September-October).

The Delhi Capitals topped the regular season draw and were joined in the playoffs by Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers and Kolkata Knight Riders, with the latter team squeezing clean pace.

Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings narrowly missed qualifying for the playoffs but Sunrisers Hyderabad were well on the pace, winning just three matches to finish last.

In the playoffs, Chennai Super Kings beat Delhi Capitals by four wickets to advance to the final where they were joined by Kolkata Knight Riders. MS Dhoni’s CSK beat Eoin Morgan’s KKR by 27 points in Dubai to claim their fourth title.

Who are the foreign players?

Liam Livingstone was the most expensive foreign player bought at February’s mega auction, bought by Punjab Kings for a whopping 11 crore (£1.45m). Fellow versatile Wanindu Hasaranga also cashed in, with RCB snapping up the Sri Lanka international for 10.75 crore (£1.05m).

Many World Cup-winning Australians are expected to take part, including Josh Hazlewood (RCB), David Warner (Delhi Capitals), Pat Cummins (KKR), Mitch Marsh (Delhi Capitals), Glenn Maxwell (RCB) and Aaron Finch. (KKR).

New franchise Gujarat Titans have snared New Zealand speedy Lockie Ferguson, South African striker David Miller and T20 World Cup-winning wicket-keeper Matthew Wade alongside a trio of Afghans (Rahmanullah Gurbaz , Rashid Khan and Noor Ahmad) and Caribbean duo Alzarri Joseph and Dominic Drakons.


T20 World Cup winners Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Aaron Finch and Glenn Maxwell will all take part in IPL 2022 [William West/AFP via Getty Images]

Lucknow Super Giants, meanwhile, bagged Australian Marcus Stoinis, South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, Sri Lanka’s Dushmantha Chameera and West Indian trio Evin Lewis, Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers.

A total of nine English players are set to take part in the IPL. Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals) and Moeen Ali (CSK) have been retained by their franchises, Chris Jordan joining the latter at CSK.

Jonny Bairstow and Benny Howell will join Livingstone at the Punjab Kings while Sam Billings will represent KKR. Tymal Mills and David Willey will represent Mumbai Indians and RCB respectively.

Singapore international Tim David, who will represent Mumbai Indians, was the only associated player selected in the auction.

How can I watch it?

In the UK, Sky Sports has exclusive rights to this year’s tournament, with matches available on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Cricket.

Fans in India can watch all the action on Star Sports.

Elsewhere in the world, viewers in Australia can watch the IPL on Fox Sports while in New Zealand, Sky Sport will provide coverage.

Willow TV and Flow Sports will broadcast the tournament in the United States and the Caribbean respectively.

Fans in the MENA region can catch the action on beIN Sports while in South Africa, SuperSport has the rights.

The IPL can also be streamed on Disney+ Hotstar.

Related Topics

Please ensure all fields are completed before submitting your review!


Comments are closed.